Tags

, , , , ,

3 stars

Inspiring. Forces You To Face Yourself

 

Mini Review:

The movie may be a wonderful, happy mini biopic about a young girl and her mother. But in reality it is a test of your humanity. Your capacity to deal with a curveball that life may throw at you.

 

Main Review:

The world is divided into two kinds of people. And when you’re sitting in the theater watching Yellow, unable to eat popcorn, hating yourself for falling into the category of compassionless villains like Nurse Ratched, the faceless hunter who kills Bambi’s mother, Anton Chigurh, Garland Greene ‘The Marietta Mangler’… You know that the movie is something awesome. I must confess that I was afraid of being a mother of a child born with a disability (Down’s Syndrome). Will I have the patience? Would I be able to care? And the most important fundamental question: Would I have the capacity to love such a child unconditionally?

When a small film comes out of nowhere and fixes the spotlight on you, you sit there stunned. The tears that well out are mostly because you are humbled by the story unraveling in front of you. There is so much love, you hate yourself for being like the dad, who can think of getting rid of a child that is born different.

But the clever direction and superb writing drags you out of that hell and sweeps you along a wave of understanding. Yes, this is not easy to deal with, but there is help. And you believe in a God again when he shows up in the role of the little girl’s uncle, who becomes the boat and the rudder and the even keel for mother and daughter to sail life’s troubled waters.

There is so much humor and joy in the writing, you barely swallow a lump of guilt at the school for special kids. If you think watching one child struggle with everyday life was tough, then imagine what watching so many kids joyously struggling with singing the school song and buttoning a shirt.

The swimming coach (Upendra Limaye) is a seasoned actor who brings Yellow to the little girl Gauri and makes a speech that made my heart burst with more tears. The mother (Mrunal Kulkarni) is a fine actor and she makes you wish all mothers would be just as amazing. But the showstopper is the uncle of the little girl (Hrishikesh Joshi) who helps not just the mom, but all of us sitting in the audience by his pithy observations steeped with humor.

The writing is so good, I remember the dialog even days after I have seen the movie. And this has not happened for a long time.

As I am still in a confessional mode, let me also admit that I could not sleep after watching this movie. I still don’t know how I would be, had I a differently abled child. But i am glad to learn that there is help out there for parents. And hope.

This film is about looking at life with yellow colored glasses. I will learn slowly, that I know. Watch the film. You’ll learn much more about yourself than a wonderful happy world champion called Gauri.

P.S. Dear Riteish Deshmukh, you are a fine producer!

